Tony Joe White – Tony Joe White

Tony Joe White scored big with 1969’s “Polk Salad Annie” from the album Black & White and he was having success as a songwriter too: “Rainy Night In Georgia” was a huge hit for Brook Benton in 1970.

His self-titled third album (1971) finds the “Swamp Fox” tempering his bluesy rockers with a handful of introspective, soul-dripping ballads and introducing horn and string arrangements for the first time. The addition of the Memphis Horns and other Muscle Shoals session men really worked well for the album. Many of the songs will remind the listener just how turbulent the cultural climate of the late 60’s and early 70’s was in the U.S. Songs like “The Change”, “Black Panther Swamps” and “I Just Walked Away” (the album’s first single) are testament to the era.

The album was recorded over a two-week period in December 1970, in two different Memphis studios. Producing the album was none other than London-born Peter Asher, who had just produced James Taylor’s early hits.

Tony Joe White is now available as a 50th anniversary edition of 1000 individually numbered copies on white coloured vinyl.

DKK 159,00


Yderligere information


Tony Joe White



, , ,


, , , , , , , , ,




A1. They Caught The Devil And Put Him In Jail In Eudora, Arkansas
A2. The Change
A3. My Kind Of Woman
A4. The Daddy
A5. Black Panther Swamps
B1. Five Summers For Jimmy
B2. A Night In The Life Of A Swamp Fox
B3. Traveling Bone
B4. I Just Walked Away
B5. Copper Kettle
B6. Voodoo Village

Shoppen er lukket pga. efterårsferie.