Taj Mahal & Ry Cooder – Get On Board

Taj Mahal and Ry Cooder reunite in 2022 to release their first collaboration album in 57 years, since the debut album of their long-defunct band, the Rising Sons.

“Get On Board” is the name of the record. “The Songs Of Sonny Terry & Brownie McGhee” is the subtitle that reveals: the blues musician and multi-instrumentalist and the virtuoso guitarist, singer, composer and producer dedicate themselves here to two icons of the Piedmont blues, whose music has accompanied and influenced them since they were teenagers.

DKK 159,00

Forventet leveringstid: 3-21 hverdage


When asked where Terry and McGhee took him musically, Cooder said, “Down the road, away from Santa Monica. Where everything was good. ‘I’ve got to get out of here,’ was all I could think. What are you doing, fourteen, eighteen years old? I was trapped. But that first record, ‘Get On Board,’ the 10ʺ on Folkways, was so wonderful, I could understand guitar playing.” Taj Mahal added, “I started listening to them when I was about 19, and I wanted to go to these coffee houses because I heard these old guys were playing there. I knew there was a river out there somewhere that I could dip into, and once I was in, I would be fine. They brought the whole package for me.”

Eleven pieces from the catalog of Sonny Terry and Brownie McGhee have selected and reinterpreted for them “Get On Board”. Taj Mahal (vocals, harmonica, guitar, piano) and Ry Cooder (vocals, guitar, mandolin, banjo) are supported by Ry’s son Joachim Cooder (drums, bass).

Yderligere information

1: My baby done changed the lock on the door
2: The midnight special
3: Hooray hooray
4: Deep sea diver
5: Pick a bale of cotton
6: Drinkin’ wine spo-dee-o-dee
7: Seite B: What a beautiful city
8: Pawn shop blues
9: Cornbread, peas, black molasses
10: Packing up getting ready to go
11: I shall not be moved