János Starker – Bach, J.S.: Suites Nos.2 & 5 for solo cello

Mercury Living Presence is considered a milestone within classical recording history. These LPs were popular collector’s items from the beginning, and 70 years after the first releases, the label is still admired for the quality of its recordings and their “living presence.”

The second edition comprises a total of five LPs. The special recording technique is exquisitely suited to the lush, complex musical structures of Saint-Saëns’ Organ Symphony. This recording was made in 1957 with Marcel Dupré at the organ and the Detroit Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Paul Paray. Alongside these are solo albums by Byron Janis on piano with Mussorgsky: Pictures at an Exhibition (1961) and Janos Starker on cello with Bach’s Cello Suites 2 & 5 (1963). The delightful and passionate album Hi-Fi a la Espanola (1957) by the Eastman-Rochester Pops Orchestra conducted by Frederick Fennell presents mostly Spanish and Latin American compositions.

The recording is one of the favorites of many audiophile listeners and puts even modern playback systems to the test. Recorded with three microphones above the conductor, the direct transfer to tape results in an immediate and natural sound experience. The series is rounded off with contemporary music from the mid-20th century, rich in dynamics and orchestral structures: Wayne Peterson’s film-music-like Free Variations for Orchestra (1959) and Ernest Bloch’s Sinfonia breve.

DKK 219,00

Forventet leveringstid: 3-21 hverdage

Yderligere information


Bach, J.S.: Suites Nos.2 & 5 for solo cello







1: Prélude
2: Allemande
3: Courante
4: Sarabande
5: Gavotte I-II
6: Menuet I-II
7: Gigue