Andy Bey – Experience And Judgment

Andy Bey was one of the most sought-after vocalists in the jazz fusion era. Between 1968 and 1973, he was the first choice studio vocalist for Max Roach, Duke Pearson, Horace Silver, Gary Bartz and Stanley Clarke, to name a few. His warm and engaging baritone voice effortlessly bridged the gap from conventional blues and gospel to a gritty, politicizing style of soul – Andy Bey was “spiritual” in every sense of the word.

“Experience And Judgment”, his debut album under his own name, was recorded in New York in 1973 and quickly became a cult album. Bey delivers twelve single-length songs that are full of laid-back, funky grooves, soulful and electrifying, and no frills at all – in many of them a blues number lurks in the background as a basic idea. His main collaborators are Wilbur Bascomb, who really lets his electric slap bass rip, and Bill Fischer, who sets off a little fusion fireworks with electric piano, synthesizer and various other keyboards.
The most powerful numbers come from Andy Bey himself, like “Experience,” “Judgment,” “Celestial Blues,” “Tune Up,” and “Being Uptight,” which often charge forward with full force. Bill Fischer – then artistic director at Atlantic Records – added some soul ballads to balance out the LP.

This album inspired numerous jazz singers, including Gregory Porter. Jamie Cullum says, “What I love about Andy Bey is that he creates an atmosphere. As soon as he opens his mouth, you’re transported to another place.”

kr. 279,00

Forventet leveringstid: 3-21 hverdage

Yderligere information


Experience And Judgment





, , , , , ,




A1 Celestial Blues 3:20
A2 Experience 2:58
A3 Judgment 3:00
A4 I Know This Love Can’t Be Wrong 3:15
A5 Hibiscus 4:58
A6 You Should’ve Seen The Way 2:30
B1 Tune Up 4:11
B2 Rosemary Blue 3:29
B3 Being Uptight 3:12
B4 A Place Where Love Is 4:40
B5 Trust Us To Find The Way 2:43
B6 The Power Of My Mind 2:58